Michigan Pharmacy Tech Requirements
Michigan is one of the many states that require that you study for, and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) before gaining a license to work as a Certified Pharmacy Technician.
Michigan State Specific Requirements:
- You must be at least 18 years old
- You must have a high school diploma or GED
- Complete an application with included Fingerprint/FBI Background Check
- Renew license annually for a fee of $30
Michigan Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $12.50
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:
- You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
- Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
- Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129
Michigan Continuing Education Requirements:
After October 19, 2022 – Upload copies of certificates showing proof of having completed 20 hours of continuing education (CE) within the 2-year period immediately preceding the application for re-licensure including:
- A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education earned in the area of pain and symptom management relating to the practice of pharmacy that includes, but is not limited to, courses in the following subjects: Behavior management; Psychology of pain; Pharmacology; Behavior modification; Stress management; and Clinical applications as they relate to professional practice.
- A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education earned in the area of patient safety.
- A minimum of 1 hour of continuing education earned in the area of pharmacy ethics and jurisprudence.
- At least 5 of the CE credits must be earned by attending live courses, programs, or activities that provide for direct interaction with instructors, peers, and participants.
- No more than 12 hours of CE credit may be earned during a 24-hour period.
Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements
- Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
- 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
- All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
- The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years