California

(updated 01/21/2021)

California pharmacy technicians go through an application process. There are a few different ways to become licensed in California to become a Pharmacy Technician but there is one way that is much faster than the others, that will also save you quite a bit of time and money.

California Pharmacy Technician Average Salary: $21.73/hr

The best way to become Licensed in California:

  1. Prepare for and Pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  2. Submit an application with the California Board of Pharmacy with the following:
    • A copy of your PTCB Certificate (see application page 3, #6B)
    • $195 application fee
    • A 2×2 passport style photo
    • Your High School Diploma/Transcript/GED
    • A NPDB-HIPDB Self-Query Report
    • Fingerprint card via Live Scan with a Live Scan receipt
    • Complete 10 hours continuing education per renewal period

Other (more difficult) ways to become a licensed Pharmacy Tech in California:

  • An Associate Degree in Pharmacy Technology (2 year degree)
  • 240 contact hours of instruction as specified in Title 16 California Code of Regulations Section 1793.6(c)
  • ASHP Certified course (1-2 years)
  • Obtain a Bachelors of Pharmacy or a Doctorate of Pharmacy (6-8 years)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

Pathway 1: Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) with a PTCB Recognized Educator like RxTechExam.com

or

Pathway 2: A minimum of 500 hours of work experience as a pharmacy technician.

and no matter which pathway you qualify for…

  • Full disclosure of all criminal and State Board of Pharmacy registration or licensure actions
  • Compliance with all applicable PTCB Certification policies
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years