Alaska Pharmacy Tech Requirements

Updated 11/9/2022

Alaska permits PTCB-Certified Pharmacy Technicians to do far more than those than are not Certified. Technicians with their CPhT are allowed to (in many cases) perform final checks, transfer prescriptions and clarify prescriptions with prescribers.

Our course is your key to gaining PTCB-Certification and gaining a nationally recognized credential. After preparing for and passing the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE), you must register with the Alaska Commission on Pharmacy by submitting the application and application fee. The CE’s earned for the PTCB requirement can also be used for the Alaska state requirement.

How much do Pharmacy Technicians make in Alaska? $22.19/hr

Alaska State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies within 5 years of applying
  • Submit an application to Department of Consumer Protection and $120 license fee to State of Alaska
  • Pay State of Alaska a licensing fee of $60 every 2 years before your license expires (June 30th)
  • Complete 10 hours continuing education per renewal period

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years