Alabama

The Alabama Board of Pharmacy requires that if there are more than 3 Pharmacy Technicians per Pharmacist, at least 1 of those 3 must be certified by the PTCB. Therefore, most employers will require that you are PTCB Certified. After preparing for and passing the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE), you must register with the Alabama Board of Pharmacy by submitting a notarized application and application fee. The CE’s earned for the PTCB requirement can also be used for the Alabama state requirement.

Alabama State Specific Requirements

  • You must be at least 17 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit a notarized application and application fee of $60 to the pharmacy board

Alabama Continuing Education Requirements

  • Obtain 3 hours of continuing education with 1 hour being a “Live” credit hour each year
  • Pay $60 every second year after initial application to the Alabama Board of Pharmacy to renew License

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Note: This is provided as an informational service only and is not to be construed as legal advice. While reasonable attempts were made to ensure accuracy of this information at the time of writing (last updated 12/4/2014), it is subject to change. Readers are encouraged to check the applicable statutes or board regulations for the latest information. This information does not come with any expressed or implied warranty. Application files are for the 2014/2015 years only. To report any out-of-date information on this list, please notify bopupdate@rxtechexam.com. We hope this helps!

Alaska

The Alaska Board of Pharmacy does not have any strict prerequisites regarding the practice of Pharmacy Technicians. Many employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). After preparing for and passing the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE), you must register with the Alaska Commission on Pharmacy by submitting the applicationand application fee. The CE’s earned for the PTCB requirement can also be used for the Alaska state requirement.

Alaska State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies within 5 years of applying
  • Submit an application to Department of Consumer Protection and $120 license fee to State of Alaska
  • Pay State of Alaska a licensing fee of $60 every 2 years before your license expires (June 30th)
  • Complete 10 hours continuing education per renewal period

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Arizona

Arizona is one of the many states that require that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Pharmacy Technician. In addition, they require that you present a copy of your U.S. Birth Certificate or Employment Authorization Card. They have a prorated fee for your initial application and then require renewal with the board of pharmacy every 2 years (similar to the requirement of the PTCB). The CE’s earned for the PTCB requirement can be used for the state requirement. Note: Arizona requires one additional continuing education hour to be in Pharmacy Law.

Arizona State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit an application and application fee (which ranges between $19-$52 depending on the month) to the pharmacy board.
  • Obtain 20 hours of continuing education with 2 hours of which in Pharmacy Law every 2 years.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Arkansas

Arkansas is one of the easiest states to become a Pharmacy Technician. While the state of Arkansas doesn’t require any formal training or certification to become a Pharmacy Tech, they do require that you submit your fingerprints and a notarized AR State Police/FBI Criminal Background Check Form. Many employers do require their technicians to be nationally certified, through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Arkansas State Specific Requirements:

  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete and Submit a FBI Fingerprint Card
  • Complete an application and pay a $73.50 Initial Application Fee
  • Arkansas does not require any additional education during 2 year re-certification cycle, however, they do require a $70 Renewal Fee be paid before the expiration date of the license

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

California

California pharmacy technicians go through a 90 day application process. There are a few different ways to become licensed in California to become a Pharmacy Technician but we’re just going to concentrate on the easiest way…

The Process to become Licensed in California:

  1. Prepare for and Pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  2. Submit an application with the California Board of Pharmacy with the following:
    • A notarized copy of your PTCB Exam results
    • $105 application fee
    • A 2×2 passport style photo
    • Your High School Diploma/Transcript/GED
    • A NPDB-HIPDB Self-Query Report
    • Fingerprint card via Live Scan with a Live Scan receipt
    • Complete 10 hours continuing education per renewal period

Other (more difficult) ways to become a licensed Pharmacy Tech in California:

  • An Associate Degree in Pharmacy Technology (2 year degree)
  • 240 contact hour course (3-4 months)
  • ASHP Certified course (1-2 years)
  • Obtain a Bachelors of Pharmacy or a Doctorate of Pharmacy (4-8 years… although that seems like a giant waste of time.)
  • Pay State of Alaska a licensing fee of $60 every 2 years before your license expires (June 30th)
  • Complete 10 hours continuing education per renewal period

California Continuing Education Requirements

California doesn’t require any additional education during the two year re-certification cycle although they do require a $130 renewal fee to be paid before the expiration of the license.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Colorado

The Colorado Board of Pharmacy does not regulate or license Pharmacy Technicians, with that being said, most Colorado pharmacies require that their Pharmacy Techs are PTCB Certified. It may be overly difficult and challenging to find a pharmacy willing to hire you without PTCB Certification.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Connecticut

The Connecticut Commission on Pharmacy requires that if there are more than 3 Pharmacy Technicians per Pharmacist, at least 1 of those 3 must be certified by the PTCB. In certain circumstances, at least 1 of 2 technicians must be PTCB Certified. Therefore, most employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). After you prepare for and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE), you must register with the Connecticut Commission on Pharmacy by submitting the application and application fee.

Connecticut State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Pass the PTCB Exam
  • Submit an application to the Department of Consumer Protection and $100 license fee to State Treasurer

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Delaware

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy accepts the certification of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). The easiest way to obtain the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician in the state of Delaware is to prepare for and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE).

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

District of Columbia

The Delaware Board of Pharmacy accepts the certification of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). The easiest way to obtain the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician in the state of Delaware is to prepare for and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE).

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Florida

Florida has the most regulations of any state in regard to Pharmacy Technician Licensing. After becoming licensed in Florida to practice as a Pharmacy Technician, you may be required by an employer to become nationally certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

RxTechExam is not a Board Approved Program in FL, here’s where you find one:

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Georgia

The Georgia Board of Pharmacy accepts the certification of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). The easiest way to obtain the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician in the state of Georgia is to prepare for and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE).

Georgia State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Obtain a criminal history background check through the Cogent System
  • Submit an application and application fee of $100
  • Submit a copy of the PTCB Certificate.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Guam

Guam Board of Examiners for Pharmacy Pharmacy Section Location: Room 114 123 Chalan Kareta, Mangilao, GU Phone: (671) 735-7139 | Fax: (671) 735-7139

Please contact the Guam Board of Examiners for Pharmacy at 123 Chalan Kareta, Mangilao, GU. Phone: (671) 735-7139 | Fax: (671) 735-7139

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Hawaii

The Hawaii Board of Pharmacy accepts the certification of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). The easiest way to obtain the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician in the state of Hawaii is preparing for and passing the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE). Hawaii has no additional regulations, requirements, or continuing education with regard to Pharmacy Technicians above and beyond what the PTCB Requires.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Idaho

Idaho is one of the many states that require that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Pharmacy Technician. In addition, they require that two reputable business people certify that you are of good moral character.

Idaho State Specific Requirements:

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Illinois

The easiest way to be licensed in Illinois…

Illinois State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 16 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Illinois does not require any additional education during 2 year re-certification cycle, however, they do require a $25 renewal fee be paid before the expiration date of the license

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Indiana

Indiana is one of the many states that require that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Certified Pharmacy Technician. In addition, you must submit to a criminal background check.

Indiana State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit an application and application fee of $25 to the pharmacy board.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Lowa

Iowa is one of the many states that require that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification. The great state of Iowa also requires that you register with the Iowa Board of Pharmacy within 30 days of being employed.

Iowa State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete the Certification as a Pharmacy Technician (CPT) Form
  • Submit an Certification as a Pharmacy Technician (CPT) Form and application fee of $40 to the pharmacy board, or $80 if you submit your application more than 30 days after being employed as a Pharmacy Technician in Iowa

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Kansas

If you’re interested in becoming a Pharmacy Technician in Kansas the information below will prove to be quite helpful. While Kansas does not require the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam, most employers within the state require their technicians to be PTCB Certified, and reward that effort by offering greater job opportunities as well as a higher salary.

Kansas State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Request an application from Kansas’ Board of Pharmacy by emailing pharmacy@pharmacy.ks.gov or calling (888)-792-6273
  • Fees include a one-time registration fee of $70, and a $20 renewal fee every 2 years.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Kentucky

Kentucky is one of the many states that require that you have passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Exam before gaining a license to work as a Certified Pharmacy Technician.

Kentucky State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Pass a criminal background check
  • Submit an application and registration fee of $25
  • Renew license annually for a fee of $25

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Louisiana

Louisiana is one of the many states that require that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certified before gaining a license to work as a Certified Pharmacy Technician. Louisiana is one of the only states that require that you have 600 hours of practical experience in a pharmacy prior to submitting your application to the Louisiana Board of Pharmacy.

Louisiana State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must be of good moral character
  • Submit an application with the following:
    • Proof of PTCB Certification
    • A one-time registration fee of $100, and a Criminal Background Check Fee of $42.50
    • A 2×2 “passport-style” photo
    • A Pharmacist affidavit that you have completed at least 600 hours of practical experience
  • Renew license by June 30th of each year (regardless of the date issued) with a fee of $50. Louisiana levies a major penalty for those that don’t recertify on time, a $275 late fee!
  • Louisiana also requires that Technicians earn 10 Technician Specific Continuing Education (CE) Hours each year

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Maine

Maine is one of the few states that require you to be employed before submitting an application to become a Pharmacy Technician. Maine is one of the few states that have an Advanced Pharmacy Technician designation. In order to qualify for the “Advanced” designation, you must submit the application to the Maine Board of Pharmacy as well as be PTCB (Pharmacy Technician Certification Board) Certified.

Maine State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must disclose any convictions you have ever had
  • Submit an application with a one-time registration fee of $41, and mail to 35 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 04333-0035
  • Renew license by December 31st of each year (regardless of the date issued) for $25, you must certify employment at time of renewal. Maine assesses a $50 late fee after license expiration

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Maryland

The easiest way to become a Licensed Pharmacy Tech in Maryland…

Maryland State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 17 years old
  • You must be enrolled in high school or have a high school diploma/GED
  • You must have Prepared for and Passed the PTCB Exam
  • Maryland requires 10 hours of continuing education (CE) during the first 2 year re-certification cycle and 20 hours of CEs every 2 years thereafter
  • The Maryland Board of Pharmacy requires a $45 renewal fee be paid before the expiration date of the license

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Massachusetts

The easiest way to become a Licensed Pharmacy Tech in Massachusetts…

Massachusetts State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 17 years old
  • Have not been convicted of a drug related felony
  • You must be enrolled in high school or have a high school diploma/GED
  • Have not been convicted of a drug related felony
  • Massachusetts does not require any additional Continuing Education during the 2 year re-certification cycle which expires on your 2nd birthday after becoming licensed and every 2nd birthday thereafter
  • The Massachusetts Board of Pharmacy requires a $60 renewal fee be paid before the expiration date of the license

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Michigan

Michigan is one of the many states that require that you have Studied for and passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) before gaining a license to work as a Certified Pharmacy Technician. Michigan is enacted this legislation on December 22, 2014.

Michigan State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete an application with included Fingerprint/FBI Background Check
  • Renew license annually for a fee of $30

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Minnesota

Minnesota has the some of the strictest regulations of any state in regard to Pharmacy Technician Licensing. After becoming licensed in Minnesota to practice as a Pharmacy Technician, you will likely be required by an employer to become nationally certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). Most people find it effective to study for the PTCB Exam and become Nationally Certified before trying to find a job as it can provide you with a greater salary and ease in finding a job.

Minnesota State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete the application for registration as a Pharmacy Technician
  • Complete an employer based program that includes at least 240 hours of theoretical and practical instruction within the first 18 months of receiving your license

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Mississippi

You must pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Exam. The main difference between Mississippi and those other states, is that in Mississippi, you have until March 31st after registering to Pass the PTCB Exam.

Mississippi State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete an application with included Fingerprint/FBI Background Check ($90 Total)
  • Attach a 2×2 “passport style” photo to the application
  • Answer 8 comprehension questions that can be solved by reading the application
  • Renew license annually for a fee “not to exceed” $100

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Missouri

Missouri is one of the many states that require that you have passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Exam. The main difference between Missouri and those other states, is that in Missouri, you’ll need to submit your fingerprints and have your application notarized.

Missouri State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Obtain a Proof of Fingerprinting by visiting 3M/Cogent ($44.80 Fee)
  • Submit an application ($35) and mail to the Missouri Board of Pharmacy, PO Box 625, Jefferson City, MO 65102
  • Attach a 2×2 “passport style” photo to the application
  • Renew license annually on May 31st ($35 Fee)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Montana

Montana requires that you have passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Exam. The state board of pharmacy in Montana also requires that you be of good moral character and submit three references that you are competent enough to practice as a Pharmacy Tech.

Montana State Specific Requirements:

    • You must be at least 18 years old
    • You must have a high school diploma or GED
    • Submit an application, pay $60 application fee, and mail to the Montana Board of Pharmacy, PO Box 200513, Helena, MT 59620-0513
    • Pay State of Alaska a licensing fee of $60 every 2 years before your license expires (June 30th)
    • Renew license annually on May 1st through June 30th

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

      • You must be at least 18 years old
      • You must have a high school diploma or GED
      • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
      • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
      • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

    • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
    • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
    • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
    • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Nebraska

If you’re interested in becoming a Pharmacy Technician in Nebraska the information below will prove to be quite helpful. While Nebraska does not require the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam, most employers within the state require their technicians to be PTCB Certified, and reward that effort by offering greater job opportunities as well as a higher salary.

Nebraska State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Submit a completed application (and fee of $25) to Nebraska’s Licensure Unit at P.O. Box 94986, Lincoln, NE 68509-4986
  • Pay a $20 renewal fee every 2 years before your license expires (June 30th)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Nevada

The easiest way to become a Licensed Pharmacy Tech in Nevada…

  • Prepare for and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)using RxTechExam’s Platinum Course
  • Pass the PTCB Exam
  • Because you used RxTechExam to study for the PTCB Exam, you will not need to work as a “Pharmacy Technician in Training” for 500 hours. (Shew…)
  • Submit the Completion Certificate from RxTechExam.com and a copy of your PTCB Certification with the Nevada Pharmacy Tech Application to 431 W Plumb Lane, Reno, NV 89509

Nevada State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 17 years old
  • You must be enrolled in high school or have a high school diploma/GED
  • Prepare for and pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Maryland requires 10 hours of continuing education (CE) during the first 2 year re-certification cycle and 20 hours of CEs every 2 years thereafter
  • The Maryland Board of Pharmacy requires a $45 renewal fee be paid before the expiration date of the license

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma/GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • You must study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

New Hampshire

New Hampshire is one of the few states that require you to be employed before submitting an application to become a “Registered Pharmacy Technician”. This creates a catch 22 when applying to Pharmacies without experience. The best way to increase your chances of being employed are to prepare for and pass the PTCB Exam.

New Hampshire State Specific Requirements:

  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must not be charged or convicted of a felony under any state or federal law
  • Mail a completed application and application fee (of $25) to the New Hampshire Board of Pharmacy at 121 South Fruit Street, Concord, NH 03301-2412.
  • Renew license by re-completing the application by March 31st of each year (regardless of the date issued) for $25.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

New Jersey

New Jersey requires that you have passed the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Exam to practice as a Pharmacy Tech in New Jersey.

New Jersey State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete the applicationonline application ($70 Fee)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

 

 

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

New Mexico

The New Mexico Board of Pharmacy accepts the certification of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). In order to obtain the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician, you must prepare for and pass the PTCB Exam.

New Mexico State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Mail in a completed application with $30 Fee to 5200 Oakland Ave NE, Suite A, Albuquerque New, Mexico 87113
  • Complete the online application ($70 Fee)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

New York

The New York Board of Pharmacy does not regulate or license Pharmacy Technicians, with that being said, most New York pharmacies require that their Pharmacy Techs are PTCB (Pharmacy Technician Certification Board) Certified. It may be overly difficult and challenging to find a pharmacy willing to hire you without PTCB Certification.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

North Carolina

The North Carolina Board of Pharmacy offers a few ways to become a Pharmacy Technician, the fastest of which is to obtain National Licensure through the PTCB (Pharmacy Technician Certification Board). After obtaining that certification, it is simply a matter of filling out the New York Online Pharmacy Tech Application.

Without becoming PTCB Certified, you would need to find employment and have the Pharmacist in Charge train you. It may prove difficult to find employment with no experience or credentials, that’s why we recommend Study for and Pass the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE).

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

North Dakota

North Dakota is one of the few states that require that Pharmacy Technicians graduate from ASHP Accredited Schools. There are three institutions in ND that offer an ASHP Certified Curriculum, located mainly on the northern and eastern edge of the state. PTCB Certification is required for Pharmacy Technicians in North Dakota, see the requirements for that certification below.

Where can I find a list of Board Approved Programs in North Dakota?

For more information contact Barbara Lacher at 1-800-342-4325 Ext. 2114 or email her at Barbara.Lacher@ndscs.edu

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Ohio

The Ohio Board of Pharmacy accepts the certification of the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). In order to obtain the title of Certified Pharmacy Technician, you must prepare for and pass the PTCB Exam.

Ohio State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Have taken and passed the PTCB Exam

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Oklahoma

Oklahoma has the some of the strictest regulations of any state in regard to Pharmacy Technician Licensing. After becoming licensed in Oklahoma to practice as a Pharmacy Technician, you will likely be required by an employer to become nationally certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). Most people find it effective to study for the PTCB Examand become Nationally Certified before trying to find a job as it can provide them with a greater salary and ease in finding a job.

Oklahoma State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • Complete a Technician in Training Application and submit a “passport-style photo” along with the $10 fee to the North Dakota State Board of Pharmacy, PO Box 1354, Bismark, ND, 58502-1354.
  • Complete an employer based training program that involves two phases (initial training and on the job training)
  • Submit an application for registration as a Pharmacy Technician and pass the test at the end of the application.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Oregon

The state board of Pharmacy in Oregon requires that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Pharmacy Technician. In addition, they require that you submit to a fingerprint background check.

Oregon State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must maintain your PTCB Certification through continuing education
  • Complete application and submit an application and application/background check fees of $104 total.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Pennsylvania

The Pennsylvania Board of Pharmacy does not have any strict prerequisites regarding the practice of Pharmacy Technicians. Many employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Puerto Rico

The Puerto Rico Board of Pharmacy does not have any strict prerequisites regarding the practice of Pharmacy Technicians. Many employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

 

La Junta de farmacia de Puerto Rico no tiene ningún prerrequisito estricto con respecto a la práctica de los técnicos de farmacia. Muchos empleadores requerirán que usted esté certificado a través de la Junta de certificación de técnicos de farmacia (PTCB).

Requisitos de la Junta de certificación de técnicos de farmacia (PTCB):
Debe tener al menos 18 años de edad
Usted debe tener un diploma de bachillerato o GED
Usted no debe haber sido condenado por delitos graves o delitos relacionados con drogas
Estudio para el examen de certificación de técnicos de farmacia (PTCE)
Completar el proceso de solicitud en PTCB.org e incluir, como parte del proceso de solicitud, pagar la cuota de examen de $129

Requisitos de educación continua de la Junta de certificación de técnicos de Farmacia:
Obtenga 20 horas de educación continua (CE) durante el ciclo de re-certificación de 2 años
1 hora debe estar en la ley de farmacia, 1 hora debe estar en la seguridad del paciente
Toda la educación continua debe ser específica de la tecnología
La tasa de re-certificación PTCB es $40 y es pagadera al PTCB cada 2 años

Rhode Island

Rhode Island is one of the few states that require you to be employed before submitting an application to become a “Registered Pharmacy Technician” in Rhode Island. They classify Pharmacy Technicians in two levels (I & II)

Rhode Island State Specific Requirements:

  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must not be charged or convicted of a felony under any state or federal law and be of good moral character
  • Complete an application with an application fee of $25, and mail to: Room 205, 3 Capitol Hill, Providence, RI 02908-5097

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

South Carolina

The South Carolina Board of Pharmacy does not have any strict prerequisites regarding the practice of Pharmacy Technicians but many employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

South Carolina State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any criminal charges (if so you must provide a written explanation)
  • Submit an application, application fee of $40, a copy of your driver’s license, and social security card to South Carolina State Board of Pharmacy
  • Complete 10 hours continuing education (4 live hours and 6 home study, or all 10 live hours) during each renewal period

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

South Dakota

South Dakota is one of the few states that require you to be employed before submitting an application to become a “Registered Pharmacy Technician” in South Dakota. Also, the South Dakota board of Pharmacy requires you to be certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board.

South Dakota State Specific Requirements:

  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must not be charged or convicted of a felony or misdemeanor crime
  • Complete an application and application fee of $25, and mail to: 3701 W 49th St., Suite 204, Sioux Falls, SD 57106
  • Have your current pharmacist-in-charge sign the bottom of the application

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Tennessee

Tennessee has the some of the strictest regulations of any state in regard to Pharmacy Technician Licensing. After becoming licensed in Tennessee to practice as a Pharmacy Technician, you will likely be required by an employer to become nationally certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). Most people find it effective to study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) and become Nationally Certified before trying to find a job as it can provide them with a greater salary and ease in finding a job.

Tennessee State Specific Requirements:

Luckily someone has prepared a document describing this lengthy process in detail…

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Texas

Texas is among the states that have a Pharmacy Technician Trainee Program. We can help you avoid that process and go directly to work as a Pharmacy Technician. The key is to become certified through the PTCB, the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board. The test isn’t easy but a course like RxTechExam’s Platinum package will assure your success.

Texas State Specific Requirements:

 

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

      • You must be at least 18 years old
      • You must have a high school diploma or GED
      • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
      • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
      • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

    • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
    • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
    • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
    • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Utah

Utah has the most regulations of any state (except maybe Florida) in regard to Pharmacy Technician Licensing. In addition to having completed one of the requirements below, you are also required to be nationally certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

You must complete one of the following in addition to being PTCB Certified:

  • A approved collegiate pharmacy tech program approved by the department of occupational licensing
  • On the job training in a Utah Pharmacy approved by the department of occupational licensing
  • Complete an ASHP approved pharmacy tech program
  • Over 1,000 hours of practice as a Pharmacy Technician in another state in the last 2 years
  • Submit an application along with $100 application fee, supporting documents of the above (a, b, c, or d) as well as your PTCB Certification, and DOPL fingerprint card.

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Vermont

The Vermont Board of Pharmacy does not have any strict prerequisites regarding the practice of Pharmacy Technicians but many employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Vermont State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any criminal charges (if so you must provide a written explanation)
  • Submit an application and application fee with $50 license fee, a copy of your driver’s license and social security card to Vermont State Board of Pharmacy
  • Pay State of Vermont a licensing fee of $60 every two years before your license expires (July 31st of odd numbered years)
  • Complete 10 hours continuing education (4 live hours and 6 home study, or all 10 live hours) during each renewal period

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Virginia

The State Board of Pharmacy in Virginia requires that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Pharmacy Technician. The Virginia Board of Pharmacy application is very straightforward.

Virginia State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must not have been convicted of any felonies or drug-related misdemeanors
  • Submit an application and application fee of $25
  • You must obtain 5 continuing education units (CE’s or CEU’s) every year and renew online ($25 renewal fee) before December 31st of each year

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Virgin Islands

Contact the Virgin Islands Board of Pharmacy at (340) 773-1311

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Washington

Washington has the some of the strictest regulations of any state in regard to Pharmacy Technician Licensing. After becoming licensed in Washington to practice as a Pharmacy Technician, you will likely be required by an employer to become nationally certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB). Most people find it effective to study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE) and become Nationally Certified before trying to find a job as it can provide them with a greater salary and ease in finding a job.

Washington State Specific Requirements:

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

West Virginia

The State Board of Pharmacy in West Virginia requires that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Pharmacy Technician as well as have completed a competency-based West Virginia Board of Pharmacy Technician Training Program through your employer.

West Virginia State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must not have been convicted of any felonies or drug-related misdemeanors
  • Complete an application application verifying that you are PTCB Certified and have completed the aforementioned training program
  • You must obtain renew yearly ($30 renewal fee)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Wisconsin

The Wisconsin Board of Pharmacy does not have any strict prerequisites regarding the practice of Pharmacy Technicians. Many employers will require that you are certified through the Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB).

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Wyoming

The state board of Pharmacy in Wyoming requires that you have a Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Certification before gaining a license to work as a Pharmacy Technician. The Wyoming Board of Pharmacy application can be obtained by requesting an application packet by email – bop@wyo.gov

Wyoming State Specific Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must not have been convicted of any felonies or drug-related misdemeanors
  • Submit a completed application
  • You must obtain 6 continuing education units (CE’s or CEU’s) every year and renew online ($35 renewal fee)

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board (PTCB) Requirements:

  • You must be at least 18 years old
  • You must have a high school diploma or GED
  • You must have not been convicted of any felonies or drug related misdemeanors
  • Study for the Pharmacy Technician Certification Exam (PTCE)
  • Complete the application process at PTCB.org and include, as part of the application process, pay the exam fee of $129

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Continuing Education Requirements:

  • Obtain 20 hours of Continuing Education (CE) during 2 year re-certification cycle
  • 1 hour must be in Pharmacy Law, 1 hour must be in Patient Safety
  • All Continuing Education must be Tech-Specific
  • The PTCB Re-certification Fee is $40 and is payable to the PTCB every 2 years

Pharmacy Technician Certification Board Website

  • Register to take the PTCE after completion of RxTechExam’s course
  • Find testing centers near you

WebMD.com

  • Great resource for searching conditions, Drug-Drug Interactions, Systematic effects, etc.

Drugs.com

  • A to Z medications, contraindications, storage requirements, etc. for all available prescription and over the counter medications.

DrugWatch.com

  • Excellent advocate for patients harmed by medications and medical devices.